Atlanta Neighborhood Planning Unit B

Board &Committees

The NPU-B Board

The Neighborhood Planning Unit-B Board is made up of 25 representatives.  NPU-B has 3 standing Committees (the Public Safety Committee, the Zoning Committee, and the Development & Transportation Commmittee) and a 4th By-Laws Committee, which meets only once a year to review the By-Laws Committee.

Leadership of the board

Sally Silver
Bob Connelly
Jim Cosgrove
Neighborhood Coordinator:
Nancy Bliwise
Business Coordinator:
Bill Bozarth
Public Safety Chair:
Bob Stasiowski
Development & Transportation Chair:
Andrea Bennett
Zoning Chair:
Bill Murray
Atlanta Planning Advisory Board(APAB) Representative:
Richard Rauh


The Public Safety Committee meets at 6:00 p.m. on the first Tuesday of each month prior to the NPU Board meeting. The Committee is concerned with enhancing the quality of life of the citizens of Buckhead. Because all problems have roots in communication—or lack thereof, emphasis is placed on strengthening interaction between the NPU and community. The Committee is driven by current community issues and needs and adopts concerns as they become apparent and as time and resources allow. The Committee sends a representative to the APD Zone 2 community meetings; reviews liquor license applications for NPU-B and updates the Resource Notebook. When a neighborhood or the NPU Board has an objection to a liquor license application, a representative of the Committee appears before the Liquor License Review Board to voice the objections for the record.


Bob Stasiowski, Chair

Brian Arnold

Bill Bozarth

John Bailey

Mica Hill

Michael Isaacs

Randall Kent

Lisa Martinez


The Zoning Committee meets at 7:00 p.m. on the Tuesday one (1) week prior to the NPU Board meeting. The Committee hears requests for rezoning, variances, special use permits and Board of Zoning Adjustment (BZA) appeals. The applicant or representative presents the request to the Committee and citizen comment is solicited at this time. The Committee then forwards its recommendation to the NPU Board for a vote. The NPU recommendation regarding variance requests are forwarded to the BZA, a decision making body. The NPU recommendation regarding rezoning applications and special use permits are forwarded to the Zoning Review Board (ZRB), which in turn forwards its recommendations to the City Council Zoning Committee. The Council Zoning Committee recommendation is voted on by the City Council, a decision making legislative body.


Bill Murray, Chair

Nancy Bliwise

Bob Connelly

Simon Foster

E.T Laird

Frank Toye

Jeffrey Spencer

Cory Tibbs


The Development & Transportation Committee meets at 7 p.m. on the Tuesday two (2) weeks prior to the NPU Board meeting. The Committee reviews applications for amendments to the City of Atlanta Comprehensive Development Plan (CDP). The Committee addresses and makes recommendations regarding land use issues. It also deals with infrastructure, and traffic (pedestrian, mass and road). The Committee recommendation is forwarded to the NPU Board for a vote. If a request for a CDP amendment is denied by the Committee, the rezoning request is not heard by the Zoning Committee.


Andrea Bennett, Chair 

Jim Cosgrove

John Foley

Jason Kendall

Jean Lusso

Abbie Shepherd

Mark Tiller

Peggy McCormick


The By-Laws Committee meets only as required by review the by-laws on an annual basis. The Committee is composed of the Executive Committee (NPU Chairperson, Recorder, Treasurer, Residential and Business Coordinators and the standing Committee Chairs).