Atlanta Neighborhood Planning Unit B

Board & Committees

Leadership of the board

Rebecca King
Vice Chair:
Bill Murray
Mandi Gibson
Kimberly Shorter
Neighborhood Coordinator:
Business Coordinator:
Kim Wachtel
Public Safety Chair:
Bryan Steed
Development & Transportation Chair:
Jason Kendall
Zoning Chair:
Kimberly Shorter
Atlanta Planning Advisory Board(APAB) Representative:
Richard Rauh


Concerned with enhancing the quality of life of the citizens of Buckhead. Because all problems have roots in communication—or lack thereof, emphasis is placed on strengthening interaction between the NPU and community. The Committee is driven by current community issues and needs and adopts concerns as they become apparent and as time and resources allow. The Committee sends a representative to the APD Zone 2 community meetings; reviews liquor license applications for NPU-B and updates the Resource Notebook. When a neighborhood or the NPU Board has an objection to a liquor license application, a representative of the Committee appears before the Liquor License Review Board to voice the objections for the record.

The Public Safety Committee meets at 6:30 p.m. on the first Tuesday of each month prior to the NPU Board meeting.


Bryan Steed, Chair

Denise Starling, Vice-Chair

John Bailey

Anne Culberson

Mandi Gibson

Heather Halpern

Jamie Olson

Sherri Tanner

Kim Wachtel


Hears requests for rezoning, variances, special use permits and Board of Zoning Adjustment (BZA) appeals. The applicant or representative presents the request to the Committee and citizen comment is solicited at this time. The Committee then forwards its recommendation to the NPU Board for a vote. The NPU recommendation regarding variance requests are forwarded to the BZA, a decision making body. The NPU recommendation regarding rezoning applications and special use permits are forwarded to the Zoning Review Board (ZRB), which in turn forwards its recommendations to the City Council Zoning Committee. The Council Zoning Committee recommendation is voted on by the City Council, a decision making legislative body.

The Zoning Committee meets at 7:00 p.m. on the Tuesday one (1) week prior to the NPU Board meeting.


Kimberly Shorter, Chair

Bill Murray, Vice-Chair

Nancy Bliwise

David Burge

Bob Connelly

Jim Cosgrove

Jefferson McConkey III

Steven Meister

Kim Shorter

Mary-Heather Tatum


Reviews applications for amendments to the City of Atlanta Comprehensive Development Plan (CDP). The Committee addresses and makes recommendations regarding land use issues. It also deals with infrastructure, and traffic (pedestrian, mass and road). The Committee recommendation is forwarded to the NPU Board for a vote. If a request for a CDP amendment is denied by the Committee, the rezoning request is not heard by the Zoning Committee.

The Development & Transportation Committee meets at 7 p.m. on the Tuesday one (1) week prior to the NPU Board meeting, often meeting in partnership with the Zoning Committee.


Jason Kendall, Chair

Abbie Shepherd, Vice-Chair

Susan Campbell

Taylor Hollis

Tejas Patel

Robert Patterson

Shawn Perez

Mark Tiller


The By-Laws Committee meets only as required by review the by-laws on an annual basis. The Committee is composed of the Executive Committee (NPU Chairperson, Recorder, Treasurer, Residential and Business Coordinators and the standing Committee Chairs).